Easy Summer Salad with Strawberries

A lot of my favorite food blogs are authored by people who blog full time as a job, so they have a lot of time for cooking. For me, and I’m sure many others, blogging is a hobby that comes after work, after school, and sometimes after homework, so I don’t have that luxury of time when cooking.

I’ve seen lots of summery salads, but a lot of them involve making your own dressing and a lot of other time consuming tasks. I still wanted a salad, so I made my own.

I love strawberries in salad. There’s just such a freshness about it, plus I love the pop of flavor that it adds. This salad can be made with either chicken or shrimp. I had shrimp, hubby had chicken. Both were pretty tasty.

Easy Summer Salad with Strawberries 

1 head of romaine, washed and chopped

1 c baby spinach

1/4 chopped red onion

1 c strawberries, chopped

a handful of candied almonds

Raspberry Vinaigrette (I used Ken’s Raspberry Walnut Vinaigrette)

1-2 chicken breasts, or 8-10 pieces of shrimp(for 2 people)

Here’s the time consuming part:¬† pour some of the vinaigrette over the chicken/shrimp and let it marinade for a while. This could be anywhere from overnight to just a couple minutes.

1. Throw your chicken/shrimp on the grill, and in the meantime, chop up your lettuce, and lightly toss it with the spinach, onions, and strawberries.

2. Separate onto plates. Once plated, top with grilled chicken/shrimp pieces and sprinkle with candied nuts and some dressing. I used a half a cap of dressing for my salad, and I felt satisfied. You might want more. Salad dressing is a very personal thing. ANYWAYS. That’s it! Easy enough, right?

Leave a Reply

